## 2017 Maryland Women's Hall of Fame and Women of Tomorrow Honorees Announced

On March 16, 2017, the Maryland Commission for Women and the Women Legislators of the Maryland General Assembly will induct eight women into the Maryland Women's Hall of Fame and will present "Women of Tomorrow" awards to five students during a 5:30 p.m. ceremony at the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis.

This year, the Hall of Fame inductees include an astrophysicist and two astounding athletes, a government reformer and a government executive; two women who once fought for women's right to vote, and a woman elected decades later to the U.S. Congress. They are:

- Marsha Coleman-Adebayo, Ph.D. (Montgomery County) Government reformist and author of the Pulitzer Prize nominated book *No FEAR A Whistleblower's Triumph*
- Carolyn W. Colvin (Anne Arundel County) Former Acting Commissioner, U.S. Social Security Administration
- Donna Edwards (Prince George's County) U.S. Congresswoman (MD-04, 2008 2016)
- Mary Elizabeth Garrett (posthumous) (Baltimore City) Suffragist, Women's Education Activist, Philanthropist
- Katharine Blodgett Gebbie, Ph.D. (posthumous) (Montgomery County) Astrophysicist who founded and administered a department at NIST whose scientists won four Nobel Prizes
- Kathleen Ledecky (Montgomery County) 2016 Olympic Gold Medalist, Swimming
- Helen Maroulis (Montgomery County) 2016 Olympic Gold Medalist, Wrestling
- Lilian Welsh. M.D. (posthumous) (Baltimore City) Physician, Educator, Suffragist

The Maryland Women's Hall of Fame was established in 1985 as a joint initiative of the Commission for Women and the Women Legislators to recognize and to honor Maryland women whose accomplishments are of historic significance to the state and to provide an archive of their biographies. Since 1985, more than 165 Maryland women have been inducted into the Hall of Fame including Rachel Carson, Harriet Tubman, Clara Barton, Billie Holiday, Henrietta Lacks and Former Congresswoman Connie Morella. The Hall also highlights women whose significant accomplishments may be lesser known to the general public. The biographies of all the inductees are posted on the website of the Maryland State Archives. A physical exhibit of the Maryland Women's Hall of Fame is on display at the Maryland Women's Heritage Center in Baltimore.

The Women of Tomorrow Awards program was established in 1997 to recognize young women who have achieved records of academic excellence, extraordinary community service and outstanding leadership. Each year, middle and high school students from all across the state are nominated for their outstanding academic records, extraordinary community service and leadership. This year, five young women will be honored:

- Isabella Hessler, 8<sup>th</sup> Grade, Perry Hall Middle School, Baltimore County
- Hazel Montgomery-Walsh, 8th Grade, Arbutus Middle School, Baltimore County
- **Dia Brown**, 12<sup>th</sup> Grade, Huntingtown High School, Calvert County
- Laura Espinoza, 11<sup>th</sup> Grade, Montgomery Blair High School, Montgomery County
- Sarah Perez, 12<sup>th</sup> Grade, Tuscarora High School, Frederick County

For more information about the Maryland Commission for Women, the event and the honorees, visit the website of the Maryland Commission for Women at <a href="https://www.marylandwomen.org">www.marylandwomen.org</a> or call 301-610-4523.