MARTIN J. O'MALLEY Governor

ANTHONY G. BROWN Lt. Governor



GLORIA LAWLAH Secretary Maryland Department of Aging

Commission Chair

## Commission on the Commemoration

100<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Passage of the 19<sup>th</sup> Amendment to the United States Constitution

Commission Members

Katherine A. Klausmeier Maryland State Senate

Karen S. Montgomery Maryland State Senate

**Ariana B. Kelly**Maryland House of Delegates

Susan K. McComas Maryland House of Delegates

**A. Diane Williams** Maryland Commission for Women

**Kathleen White, Ed.D** Maryland Commission for Women

Nancy Kurtz Maryland Historical Trust

Hannah Byron Tourism, Film and the Arts

Patricia Dockman Anderson, Ph.D. Maryland Historical Society

Emily Oland Squires
Maryland State Archives

Roberta Sharper League of Women Voters

**Diettra J. Lucas** National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

Blair Burns Potter Maryland Democratic Party Women's Diversity Leadership Council

Ruth M. Umbel Maryland Federation of Republican Women FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
CONTACT: Commissioner A. Diane Williams, (410)767-3049
GOVERNOR'S COMMISSION ON THE COMMEMORATION OF THE 100TH
ANNIVERSARY OF THE PASSAGE OF THE 19TH AMENDMENT TO THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION SEEKS LOCAL ASSISTANCE

Annapolis, MD, January 14, 2014 --- The Commission on the Commemoration of the 100th Anniversary of the Passage of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution held its inaugural meeting on Thursday, January 9, 2014. During the first meeting, the goals of the Commission were discussed including: developing a plan for commemorating the events that occurred in Maryland connected to women's suffrage and the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution; assembling an inventory of sites in Maryland that are significant to the suffrage movement; developing a strategy to encourage tourism related to the commemoration; and fostering collaboration between federal, state, county and municipal organizations with regard to commemorative programming.

As a result of the meeting, the Commission seeks research and volunteer assistance related to all aspects of its mission. Any organization or individual wishing to contribute to the commemoration of the passage of the 19th Amendment in Maryland, please contact your local Commemoration Commissioner to volunteer information or assistance.

Ratified by two-thirds of the states by August 1920, the 19th Amendment to the United State Constitution gave women the right to vote in the United States. This Executive Commission is authorized by <a href="Chapter 603">Chapter 603</a>, <a href="Acts of 2013">Acts of 2013</a> (Code State Government Article, sec. 9-300) and chaired by the Honorable Gloria Lawlah. Authorization for the Task Force extends through October 31, 2020.

For further information, contact <u>Commissioner A. Diane Williams, Maryland Commission for Women, 311 West Saratoga Street, Suite 272, Baltimore, MD 21201, (410)767-3049 or Emily Oland Squires, Maryland State Archives, 350 Rowe Boulevard, Annapolis, MD 21401, (410)260-6443, <a href="mailto:emily.squires@maryland.gov">emily.squires@maryland.gov</a>.</u>